Secrets within Japan’s Abandoned Schools

The Secrets of Japan’s Forgotten Schools

John Yurei

--

Yūrei (幽霊), meaning a soul or spirit of one in the afterlife. It is also defined as a passing of a spirit returning to earth on the pursuit of its own purpose. Which has always drawn my interest to step deeper into understanding more about this country’s forgotten past, the abandoned past. . .

John Yurei and his explorations
John Yurei, adventuring on his explorations

Who am I ?

I am an enthusiastic in learning about the forgotten history of this world. Diving into the lost past, I found myself exploring the hidden gems of Japan. Fascinated by my discoveries, I had to create a series documenting my findings.Upon my arrival in Tokyo, I wanted something unique, something that was far from the tourist traps. Don’t get me wrong though, Japan’s tourist locations are a must-see !

In the time of this moment, I was unfamiliar with those who resided in Tokyo. Hence my lack of resources, I needed to require a bit more research on Google to find remarkable landmarks that were worth the odyssey. I ended up stumbling upon abandoned schools that were nearby. Each being a maximum distance of 3 hours..

This required each place to have their own individual traveling day.

Former Kitagawa Elementary School (1921–1993) 旧北川小学校

The Exploration

The Exploration

My destination was 3 hours out, I woke up early in the morning to start my journey towards this elementary school. It was a quiet ride as I made my way. When I arrived there, I felt a sense of unfamiliarity. The village was distant away from civilization, as it is unusual to see foreigners not of the same Asian descendant. It was quite distinct that I was not apart of this village, or even from this country

Away from the uncertainty vibe, I continued to explore and made my way avoiding any obstacles that would’ve affected me in terms of this exploration. The only thoughts rushing through my head was a constant heart pounding anxiety telling me this was not a good idea. The surroundings felt unusual and unwelcoming, was this feeling also only happening because I was alone ?

The Classroom

In my lifetime,

I’ve encountered many experiences during these years of being an Urban Explorer. Being that I reside in America, I have accustomed to the education from a divergent country other than Japan. This is what has compelled my interest in different cultures. This being the reason behind my expanded interest in these abandoned schools.

Upon my entry, I followed the winds rustling through the creeks of the window. Within this moment, I knew the breeze of this forsaken school was not my cup of tea. Being with the collective atmosphere of this village, I knew I had to cut this journey short. The entire elementary school only obtained one room for the student’s education. It made sense that the population of the school with limited due to the village being small in scale.

A cinematic of myself in this exploration

Behind the modern history of this school, it is used for backdrops for many movies, films, and TV dramas. It is amazing to witness that this place hasn’t been completely forgotten about and is still being used in this age in time. Which is explains why the inside of this place was still kept up to date upon my visit.

This exploration was a success, I was able to acquire images to reminisce on. Allowing me to show to other individuals my experiences of this school that was frozen in time. My thirst to explore many hidden gems lingered with the obtained knowledge that I researched.

Former Minamikawa Elementary School (1937–1993) 旧南川小学校

Former Minamikawa Elementary School (1937–1993) 旧南川小学校

Founded in 1951 was the decaying fragments of the Minamikawa Elementary School that was left behind 69 years ago. This showcases the difference between modern education and work culture from previous years. Japan is delightful considering how much the students respect the environment they are surrounded within. Prior to the abandonment, the students would clean up the entire school. Sweeping it of it’s last dusts before the school has seen it’s last life.

Quiet classrooms of the school

What is your intent of searching through this school ?

My connection was different as expected. I did not truly see this place as a burden of dust collapsing beyond. As it was something I have yearned for in my years of searching for something truly mysterious.Wandering within, I could hear the winds just glithering through this school. Creeks of wood just echoing throughout the scene. It was a different type of connection compared to modern time. I wanted to re-create in life what I can imagine the life was like in this school during its active time.

Japan is a fascinating country with a unique past that lies within. It is exceptionally different from most of the places I have visited. I found the experience to be quite compelling. With the time being frozen, I was able to recover a story that I could document to share with the world. The moment was one for the books. Outside of the exploration itself, I can always reminisce with the friends I shared the journey with. Along with the everlasting stories that we created.

You may find out more of my exploration on YouTube @ John Yurei

Former Kitagawa Elementary School (1921–1993) 旧北川小学校
Former Minamikawa Elementary School (1937–1993) 旧南川小学校

--

--